Synchrotron-light for Experimental Science and Applications in the Middle East


 The Islamic Republic of Iran became a member of the SESAME project back in 2007. SESAME is a joint research project between Iran and other regional countries, based in Jordan, towards building a synchrotron machine (giant machine for generation of X-rays with adjustable frequency) for use in scientific applications.

 The project is considered to be a part of advanced engineering sciences for particle physics, with huge opportunities in medicine, environment, agriculture, etc.

Permanent members of SESAME include the Islamic Republic of Iran, Jordan, United Arab Emirate, Bahrain, Pakistan, Turkey, Palestine, Israel, and Egypt.


CISSC Activities in SESAME

  • Participation in compilation of agenda and appraisal of annual budget for SESAME committee
  • Organization of periodic meetings for Iran’s SESAME committee members
  • Establishment of secretariat, executive office, and technical office for SESAME committee.
  • Participation of Iranian representatives and counselors in the SESAME supreme council
  • Engagement of Iranian researchers in annual conferences
  • Organization of relevant conferences relating to applications of synchrotron radiation
  • Collaboration with Iran’s light source project (national accelerator)







The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)


TWAS was founded in 1983 by a distinguished group of scientists from the developing world, under the leadership of Abdus Salam, the Pakistani physicist and Nobel laureate.

 This independent international organization started back in 1983 in Trieste, Italy, under the name of “Third World Academy of Sciences”. Members of this academy, who are currently more than 900, are selected from top world scientists and represent 70 countries. TWAS secretariat is located in the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy; and a council – elected every three years by members – are responsible for overseeing its programs and activities.


TWAS in Iran

Through increased membership of Iranian excellent researchers in the TWAS, the Iranian branch of this academy (called TWASIC) was formed by 11 Iranian scholars at the CISSC back in 2003. Iran’s TWAS members meet often to assess the suitability of candidates for receiving the TWAS award, and introducing Iranian researchers eligible for membership of the international TWAS.

The output of the research carried out by Iran TWAS members with the financial support of the CISSC has been an excess of 100 papers published in international peer-reviewed journals.


Iran’s Current TWAS members


Name Experties Membership Year
Farokh Saeedi Medical Sciences and Hygiene 1987
 Yousof Sabooti  Physics  1987
 Hosein Mirshamsi  Medical Sciences and Hygeine  1992 - 2008
 Dariush Farhood  Medical Sciences and Hygeine  1995
 Abbas Shafeie  Chemistry  1995
 Mahdi Balali Mod  Medical Sciences and Hygeine  1997
 Habib Firooz Abadi  Chemistry  2000
 Farhad Ardalan  Physics  2000
 Reza Mansouri  Physics  2000
 Ali Kaveh  Engineering Sciences  2003
 Hesam-aldin Arfaei  Physics  2003
 Keramat-Allah Izad Panah Jahromi  Agricultural Sciences  2004
 Reza Malek Zadeh  Medical Sciences and Hygeine  2004
 Afsaneh Safavi  Chemistry 2005
 Mojtaba Shamsi Pour  Chemistry 2007




Address: Floor 1, Central Building of the Alame-Tabatabaei University, Block 76, Shahid Azodi Street, Karim-Khane Zand Boulevard, Tehran, Iran.

Email: info [at]

Tel: +98(0)21-88919894-5



Fax: +98(0)21-88909517

Post code: 15875-7788